top of page

Satanarchist : First Against The Wall  (Review)


This is for sure one of the best album I have heard this year. Mixing two things that I love in music, Crust punk with black metal, add on top of that the anarchist and satanic views, this is has blackened as you can get. That's for me a band that I should have known before this album.

They are amazing. Mark on the drum is impressive, not only does he bring the rhythm to the songs, but he adds to the melody and the atmosphere. This guy will never be out of shape with that kind of drumming, he is fast and creative with his beats, he has some long lasting blast beats that are just insane. John on the guitar is brilliant, he is technical, but not in the way that he would go into screaming solos, he, instead, works with chords that he deconstructs to create a riff and a melody at the same time. The tuning is as low you can go, it gives the music a feeling of weight. John does not rely on a lot of effects, big distortion and a bit of reverb, but that's it, you don't hear any fancy pedals that would make it easier. The guitar reminds me of Death for the creativity and Slayer for the rhythms. John, send me your guitar tabs I want to learn some of your skills.

I am impressed by the result it never gets boring and you forget that the band is just Mark and John. The only thing, I would like the lyrics written down, I was focusing on the instruments too much that I didn't pay attention to the lyrics. If you are a fan of Iskra or Storm Of Sedition I believe you will love the duo from Portland. I was impressed and for sure will follow their career from now on.

bottom of page