top of page

Surfin' Mutants Pizza Party : Unknown Fear (Review)


SMPP is always active and always coming up with an EP, an album or some singles, since 2013, but nothing after 2015, they got busy on some other things? I don't know, but don't worry, they're back and in good shape with Unknown Fear (Love that the there's a typo on the album cover and they don't care about it).

The band often says that they recorded their album in their bedroom or in a closet, but it sounds good so don't think that it is a cheap recording, even if the band doesn't sound too serious in their communications, they are doing a good job delivering fun music that makes me feel good.

Their sound is great, they go for a clean guitar, good drumming and nice bass. The guys seem to be enjoying themselves and you kind of get the complicity between the guys. You can feel how they just get along and go for any style they feel like. Love the voice, it's kind of a deep voice, from deep under singing fun stories, they added a little bit of echo to it, so it sounds a bit horrobilly, but nothing too crazy. The music stays fun and cool. The band's interests are similar to mine (Video games, Pizza and more) I feel I can connect with them and their music. It's kind of all things you liked when you were young and despite the fact that you are getting older, you still like that stuff.

Surfin ' Mutants Pizza Party released a great album with Unknown Fear, I have to say that my favorite track is Le Vaisseau Inconnu Approche. It reminds me of another fun band, Oh My Snare! SMPP is a band that I love for their attitude and of course how they sound. I would say that they are the kind of best kept secret or under appreciated type of band. they deserve to be heard. Anyways, check it and hope you get a smile in your face, like I did.

bottom of page