top of page

Mental Fix : Summer's Never Long Enough (Review)

Mental Fix is a punk band from Montreal and they just released a little digital demo, more will come and I can't wait to hear the rest, it is a good, fun and fast 4 tracks EP.

The music reminds me of Prevenge, Jawbreaker and Lifetime. They have a very heavy sound and the singers have great voices and i like that at one point in the song Garbage World, everyone is singing their own words, it's all confusing and you don't know who to follow. They have a song in french and for some reasons the singing reminds me of Les Marmottes Aplaties.

Guitars are well done and sound good, never going for the crazy solo, they bring a nice weight to the songs. I would like to hear a bit more of the drum in the future release, i feel that the sound of the snare was a bit distorted and hard for me to hear the impacts. But it's not a big deal to me, it will all sorts, it selves in a live show.

I enjoyed this demo, with a proper name for anyone that lives up north, Summer's Never Long Enough, I can't wait to hear more from the band. Catch them if you can at Pouzza Fest 7.

bottom of page