top of page

Mutank : W.H.A.T.S.T.H.A.T (Review)


The Montreal thrashers are back with a set of new songs. After a first demo, M​.​E​.​C​.​H Metal (they will reissue the demo with mew artwork ) that I got on cassette tape, I became a fan of the band. The music sounded like all the good old thrash metal of the 80s. I was annoying my friend every time I had a chance to mention the band's work. We were always going to the Piranha bar in Montreal and they always had a poster of Mutank on the walls, that gave me opportunities how great that band is. After the first demo I followed them, they won the 2014 Wacken battle of the bands in Canada, they went to the festival, Wacken Open Air in Germany, to represent the country. After this they kept busy, they posted videos on their Youtube channel, where they were doing covers of Metallica's first album, they are amazing at it and fun to watch. Now the new EP, they said it's actually a tease to a full album, coming by the end of the year. Well, if that's just a preview I certainly can't wait to hear the rest. The 5 new songs are great and brutal, but also fun.

After a first listening I said to myself "wow!" the bass of Stephen Reynolds is loud on this album. Usually I find bands hesitate to put the bass that forward, but I though that was a good idea, gives the album a different sound. The Drumming of Ahmed Daas is fantastic it is heavy and fast and the guitars of Costa Skoulikas and Lee Whiskey have good riffs and are inventive with the very short solos. If the first demo reminded me of Metallica, this time it reminds me of Voivod and Megadeth for the rhythms and the strength in the songs. They are orienting their music toward the beats this time. The demo goes fast and it feels that all the songs are connected and they flow very well together. The band always does a good job and I was happy to finally get to hear something new from them.

W.H.A.T.S.T.H.A.T is not fun to write with all the periods, but the album has a great rhythm and speed. It was mixed and mastered by Topon Das from Fuck The Facts. The band will be leaving to go across Canada opening for the thrash band, Annihilator. And like I said can't wait to hear what else they have coming. Check out for the Montrealers and their fun and furious thrash metal. The demo will be available, June 16th, through Boonsdale Records.

bottom of page